

Meeting Agenda for: October 27, 2023 8-9:30 a.m.

Location: This meeting will be held on the PC campus in room AC-120

Public Comments Policy:

As a Brown Act Public Body, the Porterville College Academic Senate meetings are open to the public. The public may, however, only comment under specific circumstances as described below:

- Members of the public may only speak during the public comments section of the meeting
- Individuals may speak for no more than 3 minutes each; no more than 15 minutes of a regular meeting will be
- devoted to public comments; at the discretion of a majority of the Senate, these times may be extended
 Members of the public may address the Academic Senate on any matter within the subject matter jurisdiction of the
- Academic Senate
 Each person who addresses the Senate must first be recognized by the Academic Senate President, or designee, before speaking
- Public comments should be addressed to the Senate as a whole and not to individual members
- Members of the Senate are not obligated to comment on, or respond to, or address comments by the public
- Individuals disruptive to the proceedings of the Senate will be removed from the meeting
- Individuals who are not members of the Senate, but who are attending by invitation to address the Senate regarding specific agenda items, are not bound by these limitations; such individuals will be identified at the start of the meeting by the Academic Senate President, or designee

Voting Members:

Executive Committee: President, Rebecca Baird; Past President, Robert Simpkins; Vice-President, Sarah Rector (Fine and Applied Arts); Secretary/Treasurer, Rickelle Syrdahl (Natural Science), **Representatives:** James Carson (Career Education), Lupe Guillen (Health Careers), Dave Kavern (Kinesiology), Joy Lawrence (Language Arts), Miguel Ruelas (Math), Vira Lozano (Social Science), Ana Ceballos (Student Services), Jacqueline Escareno Salas (Adjunct Faculty Representative)

Advisory (Non-Voting) Members:

Joel Wiens (PC Foundation), Dustin Acres (Curriculum), Joy Lawrence (CCA/Distance Education Committee), Melissa Long (Outcomes), Ben Makino (ASCCC OER Liaison)

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call, Introduction of New Members, Proxy Members, and Invited Guests
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Approval of Minutes: 9/08/23, 9/22/23, 10/13/23
- V. Public Comments Section (see policy above 3 minutes per speaker maximum)
- VI. New Business
 - a. Action Items:
 - i. New Faculty Hiring Ranking
 - ii. Senate Constitution and By-Laws Approval
 - iii. CTE name change to CE starting Spring 2024
- VII. Reports
 - a. Senate President
 - b. Senate Sub-Committees:

- i. Curriculum
- ii. Distance Education
- iii. Outcomes
- iv. Equivalency
- c. Senate Task Forces:
 - i. OER/ZTC
- d. Divisions:
 - i. Career Education
 - ii. Fine and Applied Arts
 - iii. Health Careers
 - iv. Kinesiology
 - v. Language Arts
 - vi. Mathematics
 - vii. Natural Sciences
 - viii. Social Science
 - ix. Student Services
- e. Other Reports:
 - i. Adjunct faculty
 - ii. CĆA
 - iii. Guided Pathways
 - iv. PC Foundation
- VIII. Closed Session (Not open to the public if needed)
- IX. Future Agenda Items
- X. Adjournment

Next Regular Meeting: November 17, 2023 - 8-9:30 a.m.

Recognition of Academic Senate 10 + 1 Title 5 Responsibilities: Board Policy Manual Chapter 8

Academic and professional matters means the following policy development and implementation matters:

- 1. Curriculum, including establishing pre-requisites and placing courses within disciplines
- 2. Degree and certificate requirements
- 3. Grading policies
- 4. Educational program development
- 5. Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
- 6. District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
- 7. Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
- 8. Policies for faculty professional development activities
- 9. Processes for program review
- 10. Processes for institutional planning and budget development; and

Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the Governing Board and Academic Senates