## Porterville College Academic Senate

Minutes: August 17, 2023

- I. Rebecca Baird called the meeting to order at 1:07 pm
- II. Roll Call, Introduction of New Members, Proxy Members, and Invited Guests:

  <u>Voting Members</u>: Rebecca Baird, President; Sarah Rector, Vice President; Rickelle
  Syrdahl, Secretary-Treasurer; Robert Simpkins, Past President; John Olmos-proxy (CTE),
  Lupe Guillen (Health Careers), Dave Kavern (Kinesiology), Joy Lawrence (Language Arts),
  Miguel Ruelas (Math), Ana Ceballos (Student Services), Jacqueline Escareno Salas
  (Adjunct Faculty Representative)

<u>Advisory/Non-Voting Members</u>: Joel Wiens (PC Foundation), Dustin Acres (Curriculum), Joy Lawrence (CCA/Distance Education Committee)
<u>Absent:</u> Melissa Long, Ben Makino, Vira Lozano

- III. The agenda was approved as amended \*(M-S-P, Miguel Ruelas, Dave Kavern).
- IV. Public Comments
  - 1. None
- V. Discussion/Action Items:
  - 1. PC Educational Master Plan
    - a. Motion to approve the EMP \*(M-S-P, Sarah Rector, Lupe Guillen)
    - b. Generally positive discussion occurred.
- VI. Adjourn: 1:14 pm

Respectfully Submitted,

Rickelle Syrdahl, Secretary-Treasurer

\*In consideration of the Brown Act, Items considered to be part of routine procedural business or that incur a unanimous vote have been determined to not require delineation of votes.