

PC Academic Senate Statement of Support for Students

To Our Porterville College Students,

We recognize the profound emotional and logistical impacts possible changes to immigration enforcement efforts may have on our students and their families. As we navigate the challenging and uncertain times ahead, the faculty of Porterville College are committed to supporting our students, their families, and our community at large. As faculty, we are here to support students' educational goals, and we hope that students will reach out to us when needed. Faculty are committed to ensuring continuity in students' education and will support students to ensure this wherever possible.

Equity is a core value of Porterville College, including supporting our students regardless of immigration status, and Porterville College's philosophy includes the belief that "All students at Porterville College will be treated with respect and dignity regardless of who they are or the goals they have established for themselves." The faculty of Porterville College continue to uphold these values.

The Porterville College Academic Senate, as the elected representatives of the faculty of Porterville College, reaffirms its support of the rights of all students to pursue their education safely and with dignity. We will continue to advocate for policies that protect our students' rights and ensure our classrooms remain a safe space.

Link to Additional Resources for Students

Approved by the Voting Members of the Academic Senate on Friday, January 17, 2025:

Rebecca Baird, Academic Senate President

Sarah Rector, Academic Senate Vice President, on behalf of Fine and Applied Arts Division Faculty

Rickelle Syrdahl, Academic Senate Secretary, on behalf of Natural Science Division Faculty

James Carson, on behalf of Career Education Division Faculty

Lupe Guillen, on behalf of Health Careers Division Faculty

Dave Kavern, on behalf of Kinesiology Division Faculty

Connie Gutierrez, on behalf of Language Arts Division Faculty

Miguel Ruelas, on behalf of Mathematics Division Faculty

Vira Lozano, on behalf of Social Science Division Faculty

Ana Ceballos, on behalf of Student Services Division Faculty

Roberto de la Rosa, on behalf of Adjunct Faculty