Academic Senate

About the Committee

Academic and Professional matters means the following policy development matters.

  • Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites
  •  Degree and certificate requirements.
  • Grading policies.
  • Educational program development.
  • Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success.
  • College governance structures, as related to faculty roles.
  • Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes.
  • Policies for faculty professional development activities.
  • Processes for program review.
  • Processes for institutional planning and budget development.
  • Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon


 The Academic Senate legislative body consists of the Academic Senate President, Vice President, President Elect, Past President, Secretary, and representatives of 9 divisions. Non-voting members include ASCCC OER Liaison, Curriculum Chair, Distance Education Committee Chair, PC Foundation Faculty Representative, and CCA Representative.


Position Member
President Rebecca Baird
Vice President Sarah Rector
President Elect Vacant
Past President (Advisory) Robert Simpkins
Secretary/Treasurer Rickelle Syrdahl


Division Member
Adjunct Faculty Representative Marley Wynn
Career Education James Carson
Fine and Applied Arts Sarah Rector
Health Careers Lupe Guillen
Language Arts Joy Lawrence
Natural Sciences Rickelle Syrdahl
Mathematics Miguel Ruelas
Kinesiology Dave Kavern
Social Science Vira Lozano
Student Services Ana Ceballos

Advisory Members (Ex-Officio, non-voting)

Committee/Area Member
Curriculum Dustin Acres
Outcomes Melissa Long
Distance Education Joy Lawrence
PC Foundation Joel Wiens
CCA Joy Lawrence
ASCCC OER Liaison Ben Makino


Past Senate Presidents

Year Senate President
1996-97 Young Kim
1997-98 Mike Rost
1998-99 Jacinto Gardea
1999-00 Valerie Lombardi
2000-01 Ann Marie Wagstaff
2001-02 Ron Glahn
2003-04 Susan Regier
2004-05 Stewart Hathaway
2005-06 David Bezayiff
2006-07 Bill Henry
2007-08 Craig Britton
2008-09 Susan Regier
2009-10 Jeff Keele
2010-11 David Bezayiff
2011-12 Stewart Hathaway
2012-13 Joel Wiens
2013-14 Buzz Piersol
2014-15 Buzz Piersol
2015-16 Stewart Hathaway
2016-17 Stewart Hathaway
2017-18 Jeff Keele

Jeff Keele


Miles Vega

2020-21 Miles Vega
2021-22 Robert Simpkins
2022-23 Robert Simpkins

Meeting Times

Fridays twice per month 8:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m.

Last Meeting

Academic Senate Meeting - February 9, 2024

Recent Documents

 All Documents

You can access all of the committee's documents here: Academic Senate Document Cloud Storage.


Faculty Position Request Presentations

Video of 10-13-23 Meeting
Video of 10-14-22 Meeting

Video of 10-8-21 Meeting 

Video of 11-15-19 Meeting

© 2023